Laser Ben

So remember what I was saying about good news/bad news? Following the surgery yesterday the surgeon told us two things: 1. the right eye was better than he thought. 2. The left eye was worse than he thought.

He cleaned up what he was able to with the laser and will come back in a few days to check in on him and see how his eyes react. He strongly feels that Benjamin will need further treatment, especially on his left eye. This could be more laser surgery, cryotherapy (what I imagine in my mind to be a super villain freeze-ray… I mean I already imagine the laser treatment is administered with a laser cat), an injection of a cancer drug into his eye, or as a last resort – regular surgery.

The surgeon even mentioned that he may come out of this with eyesight only through his right eye and that “he’d be able to do everything any kid could.” What came to my mind immediately was “except seeing 3-d movies” (yes, we are back to the light and brave posts).

We, of course, are praying his eyes react well to the treatment and he has his papa’s vision, but we are also willing to accept “damaged, but working” vision. It seems the NICU and having a micro-preemie is an extended exercise in acceptance of what you are dealt and making the most of it.

cpap and smiles

If he can smile, we can smile

12 thoughts on “Laser Ben

  1. what a brave little boy he is. thank goodness he’s getting such good care. he’s come so far and has overcome every challange to this point. it’s not too much to expect one or two more miracles.

    lots of love benjamin. i’m so proud of you!!

  2. Agreed if he can smile you can smile & I have to say what a gorgeous little man, can’t wait to meet him.

    We can only imagine what a difficult time this is for you and if there are times you need reinforcements you can surely count on the Collins family, so chins up guys god will never give you more than you can cope with although I know it doesn’t seem that way at times. xx

  3. awww he is smiling! he knows he’s very loved and he’s the man! : ) so cute!

  4. Like you after many tears down here in Pa. we still praise the Lord for His mircles. Rejoice in the Lord always and again I say rejoice. Love you all what a beatiful smile.

  5. Yes, that’s a GREAT picture. But the caption should be “World’s Best Baby.”

  6. Withh a smile like that he’s going to drive the little girls wild! Go Ben! Show them how tough you are, little man!

  7. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that picture! We’re praying for good results with his surgery. He’s such a fighter and nothing will keep him down. I agree with your mom, with that smile, he’ll get whatever he wants in life! Who knows – maybe your son, my daughter….

  8. He is so stinkin’ cute! That is all.

  9. I love that smile! It’s a beautiful thing.

  10. So – I don’t know how much this helps, but as a teacher of students with multiple and severe disabilities – I can definitively say – my students who have had any vision at all (not to mention those with none), are all so capable and so amazing. I can’t even begin to describe their abilities. So whatever happens, it isn’t just people talking when they say kids are resilient and all that. I see it every day and believe it with all my heart. I have a classroom full of the brightest, happiest, most loved kids around ❤ Love you all! Keep on keepin' on!

  11. He IS a sweetpea, isn’t he? Goodness, we love this little boy. Amy and Joe, you are lovely parents who are handling Ben’s arrival and “ups and downs” with incredible grace. Thanks for sharing his smile. Much love.

  12. Just wanted you to know that I’m praying for you, Amy, and Ben. He’s a tough little cookie and I have faith in him! ^_^

Leave a Reply

