On strength, briefly

I found myself reading a blog from a mother of twin preemies, a boy and a girl, almost two. The daughter who was ventilator bound, very suddenly passed last month. It is heartbreakingly sad to read her story, but I was so amazed by the strength of the mom.

The reason I bring her up is that there was something she included in her last post that has really stuck with me:

There’s a man who does the Ironman triathlon out in Hawaii every year with his disabled son in tow. A son who he pulls swimming, biking and of course running. Their name is “Team Hoyt” if you’d like to look them up. Year after year I’ve watched him and heard his story. The questions were always the same. “Wouldn’t it be easier to do this enormous physical task without pulling your son?”His answer was always the same. “I couldn’t do this without my son”.

 

 

4 thoughts on “On strength, briefly

  1. And if you are questioning yourself or this blog the answer is the same you could not endure this journey without Ben.

    Our Love & best wishes are with you constantly xx

  2. And that is the beauty of children. Once you meet your child for the first time, he/she becomes the strength of your life. Benjamin might not be physically strong, but he will make YOU into Goliath. There won’t be anything you won’t be able to achieve with him by your side. Love and kisses to all.

  3. Just as you could not do it without Benjamin, my life would be meaningless without you. I’m so proud to have you as my son!

  4. What a little miracle you have i prommed at 19wks my little man came at 33wks , i wish you both all the luck in the world and your little prom miracle to xx

Leave a Reply

