Finding our groove

Seeing how I’m at home all day with Ben, it has fallen upon me to keep up with the blog posts. As you may have noticed, I’m not very good at remembering to blog, and am a huge slacker. Thus,  I’m forced to resort to trickery, and distract you with an adorable picture so you forget about how there has not been a blog post in over 11 days. Prepare yourself.

Benjamin on his side with his hands in his mouth

hope the cute makes up for the late

Now what were we talking about? Oh yeah, how super cute Benjamin is. Isn’t he adorable?

The first week without Joe was very busy, and I’m pretty sure something untoward happened to the time-space continuum because there were way more than 7 days last week. I’m pretty sure last week was a month long- a physicist might want to look into this. Just saying.

We visited with Infectious Diseases (all seems stable with the PO meds; we go back in a month) and stopped by the NICU floor yet again to visit with Dany, Leora, Sara and a few other nurses and staff who were around. We had our final EI evaluation on Wednesday, which went as well as can be expected- we’re qualified for services, so now they have to figure out what frequency we get. I’m trying to enjoy the calm before the storm now, because in a few weeks we’ll have therapists visiting several days a week. I have a feeling that means I should get dressed before Benjamin’s and my morning nap.

The rest of the week was quiet, just Benjamin, Cayman and I figuring out our groove during the day, and Joe finding his quality family time during the evening.

Here are some Benjamin-bullet points, hitting the FAQs:

  • He sleeps pretty well, all things considered. He has to get medicine around 10:30/11pm, so we put him to sleep around 8 in the living room until then, and then give him a bottle and his meds, and then move him to the bedroom when we (and by we I mean Joe) go to sleep, shortly thereafter. He’ll fuss maybe one more time during the night, but will generally stay asleep until about 5:30/6am. We’re planning on shifting him to his crib in his room next week. Gulp.
  • His eating stresses us out. A lot. He’s gaining weight though (11lb 10oz!), so we’re trying to chill out about it, because we’re also stressed that we’re going to give him horrible food aversions and he’ll never eat again. We’re kind of weird. He’s probably fine. It would just make me happier if he met his target more. And then I would stop freaking out. Probably.
  • He’s trying to roll over, but can’t get his head to cooperate with his body. It’s pretty cute. He’s doing a lot of tummy time, as per the physical therapist’s suggestion when she did her evaluation (pretty much, during the day, if we’re not holding him, he should be on his belly). He’s not lifting his head yet, which is worrisome, but I think he’s working at it more, so I’m not really worried. He just hit 4 months corrected, so it’s the late end for that milestone, but it’s not crazy.
  • Everyone in our building who didn’t know we had a kid in the hospital is confused. It’s kind of funny. I usually just answer with “it’s a long story” because I’m not the type of person to have super personal conversations in the elevator with my neighbors. It’s usually also my answer to “I didn’t realize you were pregnant” and “How old is he?”
  • Benjamin smiles like crazy when he’s sitting in the swing and you kiss his cheeks. Joe also swears he giggled at one point too. I believe him, though Ben has not yet giggled for me.
  • All things considered, except when he’s (not)eating, he’s really mellow. He can amuse himself on the tummy time mat or in the swing. He likes being carried, but will occasionally fuss to be put down (how different is that from the NICU!?!). He loves the stroller and the moby-wrap. He tolerates my photo shoots.
All in all, we’re getting used to each other, day in and day out. I think we’re figuring out what works for us the best we can. But is it really only Tuesday? Because I’m pretty sure Monday lasted a few days there…
9 thoughts on “Finding our groove

  1. Cute definitely made up for late. Ben is adorable and getting more so every time I see a picture. Hang in there with the long days. When you are sitting in my shoes 40 years down the road, you will be wishing those days were still here.

  2. You did a great job! Even if it did take 11 days and a little prodding 🙂

  3. What a handsome little guy! Can’t wait to see you all again.

  4. I too cannot believe it is only Tuesday, but well, yay for Wednesday! It’s my first week home alone with Ravi and doing all the night wake ups myself now that Brett has gone back to work and the in laws are gone. Groundhog day for real, right? Call if you want to vent/talk. Who new little humans were so demanding :-).

  5. And yes, he’s darn cute!!! Love the picture.

  6. Ethan and I will look at each other and say “it’s ONLY 1:30 in the afternoon?!?! When you spilled that (blank), wasn’t that yesterday?? That couldn’t have been the same day as today!”

    So glad you guys are finding your groove! Maybe a walk with some neighbors can eventually be worked into your routine (cough cough) 🙂

  7. I don’t mind your tardiness, Amy. That was an excellent post – especially the FAQ 🙂 Glad to hear Benjamin is doing so well. I can definitely understand your week going on for days and days… I feel like that quite often!! Anyway, glad to see you are getting in the groove. Can’t wait to meet this little one on one of my trips down. Keep up the good work!! I hope your therapists are as awesome as the ones in my classroom this year! They add a little sunshine to the day, I must say! 🙂

  8. I loved the post Amy—-but I was wondering how you all were doing and thought that maybe there weren’t going to be anymore updates and that made me sad. Hang in there I remember how long the first days with Brianna really got to me and when Horst walked in the door I flung her at him and said I need to get out of the house. So make sure you pamper your self even though it might only be for ten or fifteen minutes. Yes he is sure cute and he doesn’t look starved either.K

  9. He’s adorable 🙂

Leave a Reply

