The best/worst year ever

Over the past day I’ve been watching people post to Facebook and Twitter how hard 2011 was and how they are glad it’s over. Part of me definitely agrees with that. It was a rough year, almost from the get-go. I thought about how it contained days worse than any I could remember. Months where my heart would stop every time the phone rang.

But I cannot look back at any day and wish it away –  Amy and I would go through every one of those days again because it brought us here. It brought us the happiest days we have ever had. It brought us a little boy who in spite of it all laughs easily and snuggles often.

This coming year will be sure to have challenges too – but as long as the rewards are as great as this past year, 2012 can bring it.

Ben joined us (before he passed out in true rock-star style) to celebrate New Year’s Eve last night:

Ben meets Franca

Franca and Ben plan a trip to Italy

Ben at NYE

"I've been told there's champagne on new years..."

Cristina and Ben

Aunt Cristina gives Ben the giggles

2 thoughts on “The best/worst year ever

  1. It’s just going to get better and better. I love the picture of Benjamin giggling. What a sweet boy. Looks like he really loves life and makes everyone very happy. And for the record, I think he’s really going to enjoy Italy. I think we’ll add that to our list too.

  2. Seeing your wonderful bundle of love in your arms, it is easy to understand why you would live every tense moment again in order to end up with Ben. He is beautiful and we hope he always brings joy to your hearts. Have a wonderful 2012. Love, Robin & Jim

Leave a Reply

