The location of Benjamin’s nose

For the most part, when therapists and evaluators ask me what Ben’s receptive language is like, I have to shrug my shoulders. Though I’m pretty sure that he understands us, he doesn’t really follow directions. Repetitions of “Benjamin!” “Shake this toy” and “Where are your feet?” go unanswered for the most part, and it’s hard to say if that’s due to his inability to understand, or because he simply just isn’t into that.

But this Monday got a lot of excitement around these parts, because Benjamin, upon request, found his nose. Several times- so it wasn’t just a weird coincidence.

Strangely, as of today, said nose locale is less certain. We’ll have to practice some more.

4 thoughts on “The location of Benjamin’s nose

  1. I am so glad I am not the only one that has happened too. I can not tell you how many times my Therapist would ask me a question during a session. I would say I do not think he has done that yet. Two hours later that stinker would do that question. We would practice and practice till next session then he would become suddenly shy and would not say the exciting new sound or action. That is even more frustrating. Hang in there. You are all doing a SUPER job. He sure has developed alot this year so far. I loved the petting zoo photos. Does he like to touch new thinks? Or do you have to give alot of positive reinforcement sayings? Thanks do much for keeping us updated. Take care.

  2. Hmmmm, maybe Benjamin doesn’t respond because he knows of Joe’s penchant for asking trick questions. For example: Ques. by Joe: Benjamin, where is the Poconos? Ans. by Benjamin: Right in the middle of the poker face.

  3. It sounds like your Benjamin knows more body parts than mine does! 🙂

  4. Love it! Now for the endless singing of “Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes” (but it sure is fun) 🙂 go Ben!

Leave a Reply

